Holy crap - it's been TWO WEEKS since I last blogged! I missed last week's Monday Morning Morals Question entirely, and I haven't done Mama Kat's writing prompt in about a month. But I'm here today so I guess that's a start (one day in a row, as I like to say.)
So, last Monday I was in Vegas, and while I had grandiose plans to do a Special Edition Monday Morning Morals from Vegas, then I remembered that "what happens in Vegas stays in Vegas," so I couldn't. Actually, that's a lie. What really happened is that I was too enamored with $22 "Miami Vice" cocktails (which we went on a campaign to rename the "PinaCoLaiquiri") to be getting up and typing anything of substance at all...
But today I'm back with my newest edition -- chock-full thought provoking mind benders really designed to challenge the moral fiber of one and all...or maybe not, but I'm curious nonetheless.
Back story first...I've been playing a lot of tennis this summer. I'm terrible, but I'm improving and it's exercise, and I really like it, so...blah blah blah...I'm playing a lot tennis. Anyway, since I was new to the team this year, I was just assigned a partner. She's a bit older and better than I am, but we play pretty well together and for the most part it's fun...except this one little thing...
She kind of cheats!
It's not like she's taking human growth hormones or releasing killer bees on our opponents or anything. It's just that every now and again (a couple of times a match), she calls a ball out when it's on the line...and that's cheating.
And now for the moral rub...if the ball's on her side of the court, it's really her call to make. I don't want to second guess her and I am sure that there have been times when the ball is actually out and I just can't tell from my perspective...but there have definitely been times when it's been IN too, and those are the times that count -- and I haven't stood up to her to say "no, that was in."
So, am I a bad person if just stand by and let my partner call things out that are in?
PLEASE, JUDGE ME!
To be fair, this hasn't happened in a game-defining moment, and I like to think that I would over-rule the call if it did...but it's hard to say, maybe that's just wishful thinking and I'd be as big a wimp then as I have been so far!